janet simpson janet simpson - Woman's handbag scam

Scam Report: #0061727

janet simpson
janet simpson

Woman's handbag scam

janet simpson
167 New Gower Street P.O. Box 908
St. John's Newfoundland A1C 5M2
Canada
SCAM REPORT:
Respond to this report!
 File a Dispute!
Victim of this company?
 File a Report!

My wife put up a bag for sale on craigslist and throughout the day 'janet' emailed her back and forth stating that she would use micjoe06@gmail.com for a money request towards paypal.

here's the text from the email:
The price is affordable to me. Do you have PayPal account concerning the payment? if you have you can send money request to micjoe06@gmail.com for me to make the payment today.i would like to add $30 for the shipment cost via Canada Post.below is the mailing address
167 New Gower Street
P.O. Box 908
St. John's, NL
Canada
A1C 5M2
so let me know your decision.
Janet

I'm glad that I searched out the address and that scamchecker already had posted some info re the addy.

Thankfully no money was sent and correspondence was terminated.



WAS THIS REPORT HELPFUL?
Your rating: None Average: 5 (6 votes)
BOOKMARK/PROMOTE THIS REPORT:
 

Comments

Scamchecker does great job preventing people from being scammed.
It's absolutely fantastic to read that you have managed to escape that scam trap.
Kudos to you and Scamchecker!

I posted a bag for sale as well last week and I was approached by the same person with exactly the same email content! Lucky that my bf and I googled the person and address and found that it's actually a scam.

The same thing happened to me.
I posted a purse to sell on Craigslist.
"Janet Simpson" contacted me saying she's interested and would pay using Paypal.
Eventually she confirmed to purchase it after I've added the shipping charge.
But for a couple of days I had not heard from her anymore.
Eventually today, I end up receiving some sort of bogus email claiming it's from Paypal.
This email actually looks exactly like a payment transaction email sent from Paypal, except at the bottom of the page, it says that I has to ship out the purse and confirm the tracking # before Paypal would credit the payment into my account.
Since I've dealt with receiving payments from Paypal before, and never seen a case where the seller has to ship out the good before receiving the money.
I actually sent an email to the actual Paypal customer service.
Paypal confirmed to me that it's a spoof mail.
And just now that my husband searched about this person and stumble across this forum.
Thanks anyway.

I'm really happy I googled the address and found these postings.
I posted a bag on Craigslist and received the following request:

"Mikkel Jonathan"

Hello .

i would like to make the payment via cheque, i would also like to add
you the mailing cost via Canada post. so once you cash the money below
is my mailing address .

Terry Larry
167 New Gower Street
St. John's, NL
Canada
A1C 5M2

so let me know ASAP if that works for you.

Mikkel

I received the same email after posting a bag on craigslist! How does this scam work? so far I got this email:

Hello .

i would like to make the payment via cashier check, i would also like
to add you the mailing cost via Canada post. so once you cash the
money below is my mailing address .

Terry Larry
167 New Gower Street
St. John's, NL
Canada
A1C 5M2

so let me know ASAP if that works for you.

Mikkel

From "Mikkel Jonathan " mikkeljoe1@gmail.com

"service@intl.paypal.com." , adeyemi008@gmail.com, jonesma055@gmail.com

emails to watch out for

WHAT A SCAM!!!!!! I'm glad that I decided to google this address as I suspected that there would be issues. I think I want to fly out to Saint john and play that canada post man that attempts to deliver to this address.... sucker punch delivery!

RE: strapless wedding dress - $600

Hello Amy .

i wish to buy this item for my Sister and the price is affordable to me.

Do you have PayPal account concerning the payment? if you have you
can send money request to mikkeljoe1@gmail.com for me to make the
payment today.i would also like you to add the mailing cost via Canada
post Xpresspost. so once i make the payment below is my sister address
.

Rose Larry
167 New Gower Street
St. John's, NL
Canada
A1C 5M2

so let me know ASAP if that works for you.

Mikkel

SAME SCAMMER!! :

Hello .

i wish to buy this item for my Sister and the price is affordable to me.

Do you have PayPal account concerning the payment? if you have you
can send money request to mikkeljoe1@gmail.com for me to make the
payment today.i would also like you to add the mailing cost via Canada
post Xpresspost. so once i make the payment below is my sister address
.

Rose Larry
167 New Gower Street
St. John's, NL
Canada
A1C 5M2

so let me know ASAP if that works for you.

I recently posted an ad on craigslist and received a message from Jones Matty wanting my paypal address. I thought it was a scam and decided to do some checking. I now see that its the same email address as the one you people have provided. Thank goodness I checked here.

Seconding the comment above, watch out for messages from these three email addresses:
"service@intl.paypal.com." , adeyemi008@gmail.com, jonesma055@gmail.com

They're a scam. Tried to purchase something from us from Craigslist and said money had been sent to PayPal, but it was a forged email from PayPal.

Thanks for this service.

Thanks for your opinion. discount handbags I totally like with it.I like cheap designer handbags as well and someone is looking for new era caps? People usually prefer cheap handbags online, especially when they visit some clothing store. In some areas,people like to wholesale clothing. They will find some store doing very cheap or discounted handbags outlet. Certainly, is a good way to earn money.
designer handbags outlet

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.